The Born-Again Balletomane's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site about the love of ballet

A Little Joffrey Moment October 18, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — theworstat @ 2:25 am
Tags: , ,

I will not be able to get downtown to see this; oh, how I wish I could.  Victoria Jaiani, de facto prima ballerina* of the Joffrey, and her partner Paulo Rodrigues rehearsing the Joffrey’s new Romeo and Juliet.

Romeo and Juliet

 

*the present-day Joffrey (don’t know about the past) has no set principal dancers; supposedly, everyone auditions for everything.  It’s just that Victoria seems to get the vast majority of leading roles in major premiers.

 

 

One Response to “A Little Joffrey Moment”

  1. KatiSzed Says:

    Wow! This looks amazing. The passion is tangible!
    (Although I’ve seen some pretty amazing shows on this side of the atlantic – Cojocaru as Giselle, Semionova as Giselle, Obraztsova as Kitri among others)
    Honestly I think it’s the right attitude to have to audition for principal roles. Don’t I wish it were like that in some companies where I’ve wondered why some dancers are in lead roles and others aren’t. And I’m not only thinking of Russia, but also the UK and some companies in Canada/US. But of course, I’ve only seen some finished product and not the daily grind of class or the work ethic.


Comments are closed.