The Born-Again Balletomane's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site about the love of ballet

Alive Again January 16, 2016

Filed under: Uncategorized — theworstat @ 6:31 am

Actually I’m back, with a whole new attitude towards certain dancers.  I’m also hoping to finally get back to taking classes this year.

One of the dancers I intend to talk lots about is Joy Womack.  I admit I was more than a little harsh about her in the past; however, a close relative and friend who I will call “zzz” subscribed to Womack’s YouTube channel and after several months of watching encouraged me to do the same.  I was reluctant, but I did that finally and have come away with a whole new vision of this dancer and her possibilities.

So where have I been all this time?  I lost a parent, a cousin, and a close friend all in rapid succession.  Became estranged from my remaining family after all that.  Bought a house; closed recently.  Moving next week.  And am now just creeping back to life after a tumultuous bunch of years.

I’m also dealing with osteoporosis, arthritis, and a strange hip problem, as well as fibromyalgia.  So my trip back to taking class may in fact be a real TRIP, lol.  But I did find slippers that are really neat — they’re from Bloch and they’re all made of elastic material (I believe the name is Bloch Pro-Elastic), so they make my non-feet look almost like ballet feet.  They’re also comfortable – not like the Sansha’s I used to have that had a lump under the ball of the foot – and they fit me almost perfectly.  Has anyone else used these?  Let me know what you think.

 

 

3 Responses to “Alive Again”

  1. malonek Says:

    Good to see you back! Your posts have been very interesting and insightful, looking forward to the future ones!

  2. Jane Says:

    I watched the videos and found Womack irritating. From her “Prima Friends” to her exaggeration of her accomplishments (she is a leading soloist and only just recently been told she will be promoted next year. So she is not a Prima yet) to the way she threw her partner under the bus, calling him a drunk, she comes across as condescending, entitled, and insecure. Forgive me if I have no sympathy for her “making only $200 a month” sob story when I see she lives in a very spacious, modern loft near the center (In comparison, the brief glimpses I saw of Zhiganshina’s apartment makes me think she lives in a shoe box and many of the Bolshoi corps still live with their parents).

    As someone who used to work in PR and has an MBA, I feel that Joy has failed to grasp that she needs to be mindful of two targets: her audience and her customer, meaning the top ballet companies she hopes to dance for. I’m sure her scrappy, Christian American against the evil, godless Russians story appeals to many and she certainly is talented, but her attitude isn’t going to make her popular with the decision makers. As talented as she is, she is no Polunin where her talent is enough to make companies ignore the crazy.


Comments are closed.