The Born-Again Balletomane's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site about the love of ballet

An inspiring story April 15, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — theworstat @ 5:46 pm

The story of Michaela DePrince:
Unstoppable Ballerina

I’m convinced that most of my readers have heard of her.  If you haven’t, the first thing you will undoubtedly notice is that she doesn’t look like your usual ballerina.  

I’m convinced that this will hold her back in the world of ballet, but that the people who don’t see her uniqueness will someday be kicking themselves.  Ballet has to move on if it is to survive.

As for me, I’d love to see this girl dance Giselle, and I wish I had been there to see her Kitri.

 

One Response to “An inspiring story”

  1. Jennifer S Says:

    If she can fix those gymnast-like oversplits and unnecessary focus on extensions that they teach at her school, then that would be a good first step. I think we can root for her to succeed because she has interesting background. That said, we should still look at her as a dancer first and judge her on equal levels as other up and coming young dancers, interesting background notwithstanding.


Comments are closed.