The Born-Again Balletomane's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site about the love of ballet

Another view on Oxana Skorik March 16, 2013

Filed under: ballerina — theworstat @ 1:11 am
Tags:

For a different and refreshing view on the dancing of Oxana Skorik, please see this link:

Gene Schiavone

This fine ballet photographer has seen Skorik perform and has photographed her extensively.

 

3 Responses to “Another view on Oxana Skorik”

  1. atlanticw Says:

    Thank you for posting this. I can’t stand all the mean spirited comments. It is art, and not everyone will like every dancer. They each have different qualities. Ballet isn’t about executing steps perfectly. As a general rule, if someone works that hard to criticize a person, that usually means they are threatened by that person.

  2. Jennifer S. Says:

    I too don’t like the vicious nature of attacks on Skorik. However she is far from musical nor is she a natural ballerina. By natural I mean the quality of her movements is still very unfinished. She still goes from step to step instead of actually dancing. But I do believe she has improved a lot. But is she deserving of all the buzz? No. Right now she reminds me of Zakharova wannabe and that is not a good thing in my opinion.

    • theworstat Says:

      Honestly I saw her Carmen (online of course) and I don’t think she “got it” at all. Little Joy Womack did much better during her school exam.

      There will be a niche for Skorik, though. I believe that.


Comments are closed.