The Born-Again Balletomane's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site about the love of ballet

Ballet and Osteoporosis November 13, 2012

Filed under: ballet,ballet class — theworstat @ 5:49 pm
Tags: , ,

I’ve just had to sit in a doctor’s office while he delivered bad news.  While I’ve known for some time that I had osteopenia that was on the verge of osteoporosis, I had it confirmed in big red letters last week.  And not only is the osteoporosis bad, it is “extreme.”

This means, of course, that I have to give up figure skating.  That’s okay…I already did that a few years back.  I also can’t ride horses.

I can, however, take ballet…and will, once my feet stop hurting, lol (I also have been diagnosed with Morton’s neuroma).

The important lesson is this: if you were born with a ballet body and are so inclined, take lessons throughout childhood and more importantly, throughout adolescence.  Don’t stop when you get to adulthood even though you know you’ll never be the swan queen.

Never stop exercising.  That’s the important thing.  I stopped, and that’s what got me in the end.

Happily, ballet is one of the most-approved-of exercise regimes for osteoporosis patients.  But you don’t want to get there.  Keep exercising!

 

2 Responses to “Ballet and Osteoporosis”

  1. Karen Says:

    So glad to hear it! I stopped ballet in my 30’s after having danced all my life. Now at 64, have osteopenia and having trouble deciding what exercise to do. Back to my favourite it is.

    • Jan Says:

      Does someone know if we can still do plies and grands battements? I have lost bone mass in hip last two years after giving up riding!! But have always kept up my ballet. Doc only suggests walking. Not enough for me.


Comments are closed.