The Born-Again Balletomane's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site about the love of ballet

From A Beautiful Tragedy… June 16, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — theworstat @ 5:45 am

This is NOT my critique of Oxana Skorik, so let’s not have any whining about that. But please watch. I’ll comment in the next post

Update: this video has been made private by its producer.  I will describe it this way: it was a collection of Oxana Skorik’s most unimaginably horrible moments on stage.

9/12 update: this video has long since been taken away from public view by its producer.  I’m keeping the thumbnail up because I love her feet, lol.

 

2 Responses to “From A Beautiful Tragedy…”

  1. Hannah Says:

    I am so intrigued/amazed/disturbed by this video. As I watched it, my jaw dropped and my eyes were so big I must have looked ridiculous. I’ve only seen clips of A Beautiful Tragedy but still knew who Skorik was. I’m not sure what to think about it all. I do feel safe, however, saying that Skorik has beautiful extensions and beautiful arms. Honestly, I think if she could look as if she enjoyed performing and really pour her heart into the acting, her dancing would seem 100x better. I think I said that in my previous comment but I really do believe it!

    Anyway, I am not a person who likes to criticize, especially when my own ballet skills are seriously lacking! I’ve only been en pointe a few months so forget hopping across a stage on my toes. That’s not going to happen any time terribly soon. : )

    • theworstat Says:

      I think as ballet fans we are bound to have opinions. It is fine to share them.

      I did see a rehearsal video of Skorik where she looked really promising, Obviously that couldn’t be included in this collection of disasters. I also saw a video of her in the Bluebird pas de deux and thought she was a little cold, but just fine. Like you I tend to think that if she could just relax and be happy, the difference would be incredible.

      I wish you well in your ballet studies. Pointe is serious business, but you will one day find yourself hopping across the stage on your toes.


Comments are closed.