The Born-Again Balletomane's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site about the love of ballet

Treats, treats, and more treats June 7, 2012

Filed under: ballerina,ballet — theworstat @ 5:09 am
Tags: , ,

As of today I have a new addition to my list of favorite ballerinas: Olga Smirnova.  I had heard of her before, as she had graduated from the Vaganova school and gone straight into the Bolshoi as a Soloist.  Now she is First Soloist with the Bolshoi, and I jumped at the chance to watch a video of her dancing the Lilac Fairy with Evgenia Obraztsova as Princess Aurora.  For those of us who are already Evgenia fans, and those eager to see Smirnova, watch this:

Sleeping Beauty

Want to see more of Smirnova?  I do.  Her filigree arms knock me out, as do her presence and poise, which are incredible for someone only 20 or 21 years old and one year out of the ballet academy.  Definitely “to the manor born,” this one; possibly a major star in the making (although in ballet, predictions like that can be risky):

La Bayadere

And finally, the last act of Obraztsova’s first Swan Lake:

Swan Lake

Actually the entire ballet is on YouTube right now.  I can’t wait to see Obraztsova explore this dual role further.  One gets the feeling that while she shows a great grasp of it here, she still has much more to do and say as Odette/Odile.

